INTRODUCTION

 

Kassius O. Benson - Chief Public Defender

 

The Hennepin County Public Defender's Office provides the highest quality of indigent criminal defense by  vigorously advocating for the rights of individuals facing criminal charges in our adult division and our juvenile division. We have successfully accomplished this through the dedication and hard work of our staff.

Our office staff consists of over 120 attorneys who are some of the best educated, best trained, and most experienced criminal defense attorneys in the country. Our legal team also consists of over 70 support staff including investigators, dispositional advisors, paralegals, IT personnel, legal office assistants and law clerks devoted to serving our clients. We believe that training, educational opportunities, and professional development are critical to maintaining the skill set necessary for our staff to provide the highest quality representation to our clients. We have built an exceptional team of trial attorneys and support staff with the resources to reach successful outcomes our clients’ cases.

Our client-centered representation defends, protects, and fights for those facing a daunting criminal justice system. We ensure that no adult or child represented by our office faces the government alone. We ensure that high quality representation is not compromised by the economic status of the accused. By protecting and fighting for those who cannot afford to fight for themselves, we protect our clients’ constitutional rights as well as the rights of everyone in our community.

As Chief Public Defender, I am proud of our Office’s commitment to our clients, commitment to excellence in the important work we do on behalf of our clients, and commitment to advancing the practice of the criminal defense. I am truly honored to be the Chief Public Defender of one of the finest providers of indigent defense in Minnesota and the nation.

Sincerely,

Kassius O. Benson

Kassius O. Benson
Chief Public Defender
Kassius.Benson@hennepin.us

Help for clients and community

Being treated fairly by the criminal justice system should not be a privilege of the rich. In 1963, the United States Supreme Court in Gideon v. Wainright recognized that the fundamental right to a fair trial requires an indigent person accused of a crime to have the assistance of Counsel.

The judge will appoint a Public Defender only if:

- you are an adult and the judge decides that you cannot afford to hire a private attorney; or

- you are under age 18.

You have rights

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no warrants shall issue, but upon probably cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.  Read more for best practices for exercising your rights safely, tips to reduce exposure to suspicion (not legal advice).

Learn about your rights

What to do within the first 24 hours

Unsure what to do for a loved one that has been arrested? Use this link to find important information that you can use within the first 24 hours after an arrest. Is your loved one in jail? How much is bail? When is the first court appearance? Who do you call if you have concerns about your loved one’s health? Get this information and more by following this link. There are actions you can take before your loved one meets his or her public defender.

Learn what you can do

"Let us realize the arc of the moral universe is long but it bends toward justice."

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

News

hands on fence

After Daunte Wright's killing, criticism of 'pretextual' traffic stops grows

Read the article
court

Hennepin County launches initiative to eliminate disparities in juvenile system

Read the article

Job opportunities

Hennepin County Public Defender's Office job openings   

State of Minnesota Public Defender's Office job openings

View all job openings for the State of Minnesota Public Defender's Office

 

 

If you're in the criminal justice system and can't afford an attorney, the Public Defender's office can represent you. We help adults and juveniles accused of criminal offenses, and parents and children involved in child protection cases.

How do I apply for a Public Defender?

You will complete an application for a Public Defender at your first appearance in court. If you meet the income guidelines, the judge will appoint a public defender to represent you.

Who is my Public Defender?

The Office of the Public Defender assigns lawyers to every first appearance courtroom. Once the court has found you eligible, your public defender will meet with you to discuss your case.

How do I get to the Public Defender's Office?

If you are meeting with your lawyer for an adult criminal case (felony or Minneapolis misdemeanor) please go to our 14th floor reception area at 701 Fourth Avenue South, Suite 1400, Minneapolis, MN 55415. Our phone number is 612-348-7530.

If you are meeting with your lawyer for a juvenile delinquency or child protection please go to our 10th floor reception area at the Human Services Building (HSB) 525 Portland Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55415. Our phone number is 612-348-7530.

How do I get to Adult Court?

For adult criminal cases, including suburban misdemeanor charges, all court locations and instructions on how to find a courtroom are available on line. Our suburban public defenders have offices located in the suburban courthouses. If you have questions about where to go, please call the Public Defender’s Office 612-348-7530

How do I get to Juvenile Court?

For juvenile court all court locations and instructions on how to find a courtroom are available on line. If you are unsure or have questions about your case please call the Public Defender’s Office 612-348-7530.

When is my next court date?

Minnesota State Court provides on line access Court calendars. You may search by your name or case number. If you are unsure or have questions about your case please call the Public Defender’s Office 612-348-7530.

   

Directory

Staff Member Phone Email Job Duties
Adams, Brooke 612-348-9021 brooke.adams@hennepin.us Attorney
Anderson, Andrea 612-348-4104 andrea.anderson@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Anderson, Brittany 612-348-2001 brittany.anderson@hennepin.us Investigator
Bailey, Angela 612-348-8059 angela.bailey@hennepin.us Attorney
Baldwin, Laura 612-348-2186 laura.baldwin@hennepin.us Attorney
Barbour, Sean 612-348-6613 sean.barbour@hennepin.us Information Technology
Barna, Allison 612-348-9099 allison.barna@hennepin.us Disposition Advisor
Barreto, Jill 612-596-1807 jill.barreto@hennepin.us Attorney
Batres, Johana 612-543-2411 johana.batres@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Beasley, Jarita 612-348-6985 jarita.beasley@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Benson, Jeff 612-348-0032 jeff.benson@hennepin.us Attorney
Benson, Kassius 612-348-5660 kassius.benson@hennepin.us Chief Public Defender
Bergeson, Steve 612-596-1802 steven.bergeson@hennepin.us Attorney-Trial Team
Binder, Glenn 612-543-0087 glenn.binder@hennepin.us Attorney
Bishop, Tanya 612-348-8229 tanya.bishop@hennepin.us Attorney
Bozian, Gabriel 612-596-6754 gabriel.bozian@hennepin.us Attorney
Bradley, Jazlyn 612-348-0716 jazlyn.bradley@hennepin.us Paralegal
Brodhag, Amanda 612-348-6419 amanda.brodhag@hennepin.us Attorney
Brooke, Sallie 612-596-9406 sallie.brooke@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Bruce, Christy 612-348-8052 christy.bruce@hennepin.us Dispositional Advisor
Brummel, Paula 612-596-7668 paula.brummel@hennepin.us Attorney
Bryant, Camille 612-596-9147 camille.bryant@hennepin.us Attorney
Buettner, Sarah 612-710-2777 sarah.buettner@hennepin.us Attorney
Burton, Shira 612-348-0720 shira.burton@hennepin.us Attorney
Carey, Erin 612-348-8183 erin.carey@hennepin.us Attorney
Carey, Monique 612-543-0962 monique.carey@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Chadwick, Allison 612-348-2984 allison.chadwick@hennepin.us Attorney
Chambers, Rachel 612-543-9254 rachel.chambers@hennepin.us Attorney
Champagne, Christopher 612-348-8012 christopher.champagne@hennepin.us Attorney
Cima, Kathy 612-596-9346 kathy.cima@hennepin.us Attorney
Clemens, Chelsie 612-596-0667 chelsie.clemens@hennepin.us Dispositional Advisor
Clemenson, Rene 612-348-8050 rene.clemenson@hennepin.us Ridgedale Attorney-Supervisor
Cluck, Deborah 612-596-9279 deborah.cluck@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Colbert, Jessica 612-348-8317 jessica.colbert@hennepin.us Attorney
Colich, Michael 612-333-7007 michael.colich@hennepin.us Attorney
Connor, David 612-596-9145 david.connor@hennepin.us Attorney
Cousins, Adrienne 612-543-1577 adrienne.cousins@hennepin.us Attorney
Crawford, Latosha 612-348-6816 latosha.crawford@hennepin.us Attorney
Cruz, Cristina 612-596-6568 cristina.cruz@hennepin.us Attorney-Contract
Cuellar, Leticia 612-348-8712 leticia.cuellar@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Cushnyr, Annika 612-543-9848 annika.cushnyr@hennepin.us Law Clerk
Dahlquist, Peter 612-677-8357 peter.dahlquist@hennepin.us Attorney
Davies, Susan (612) 543-3149 susan.davies@hennepin.us Dispositional Advisor
Davis, Alexander 612-596-6753 alexander.davis@hennepin.us Attorney
DesLauriers, Kevin 612-348-4122 kevin.deslauriers@hennepin.us Attorney
DeSmidt, David 612-543-0764 david.desmidt@hennepin.us Attorney
Devaraj, Mark 612-348-2742 mark.devaraj@hennepin.us Attorney
Dieperink, Petra 612-596-8725 petra.dieperink@hennepin.us Attorney
Dong, Jesse 612-348-9884 jesse.dong@hennepin.us Attorney
Donnelly, Emmett 612-348-6144 emmett.donnelly@hennepin.us Attorney-Supervisor
Dostal, Josh 612-543-2832 josh.dostal@hennepin.us Law Clerk
Dunnette, Rebekah 612-596-1979 rebekah.dunnette@hennepin.us Information Technology
El-Ghazzawy, Basil 612-543-0263 basil.el-ghazzawy@hennepin.us Attorney
Elsen, Matt 612-596-8798 matthew.elsen@hennepin.us Attorney
Felegy, Alexander (612) 348-6702 alexander.felegy@hennepin.us Paralegal
Fischer, Dick 612-348-8872 richard.fischer@hennepin.us Investigator
Fitzharris, Ellen (612) 348-6123 ellen.fitzharris@hennepin.us Dispositional Advisor
Flores, Susan Jorgensen 763-913-0349 susan.j.flores@hennepin.us Attorney
Fournier, Michelle 612-596-9428 michelle.fournier@hennepin.us Attorney
Frame, Holly 651-361-9830 holly.frame@hennepin.us Attorney
France-Ramirez, Morgan 612-348-6878 morgan.france-ramirez@hennepin.us Attorney
Fraser, Melissa 612-596-7517 melissa.fraser@hennepin.us Attorney-Supervisor
Frazher, Vaughn 612-596-9347 vaughn.frazher@hennepin.us Attorney
Fredkove, Donna 612-348-0769 donna.fredkove@hennepin.us Attorney
Gamble, Maja 612- 348-8045 maja.gamble@hennepin.us Investigator
Gielcowski, Tammy 612-348-6047 tammy.gielcowski@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Gigley, Randi 612-596-1439 randi.gigley@hennepin.us Paralegal
Giudice, Matthew 612-348-6766 matthew.giudice@hennepin.us Paralegal
Gordon, Robyn 612-348-2433 robyn.gordon@hennepin.us Attorney
Granse, Alicia 612-596-1981 alicia.granse@hennepin.us Attorney
Gray, David 612-866-1313 david.gray@hennepin.us Attorney
Gray, Kevin 612-596-7969 kevin.gray@hennepin.us Attorney
Grostyan, Coley 612-747-2254 coley.grostyan@hennepin.us Attorney
Hansel, Katie 612-596-7711 katie.hansel@hennepin.us Attorney
Hansen, Derek 612-719-7862 derek.hansen@hennepin.us Attorney
Hanson, Gabriel 612-348-4853 gabriel.hanson@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Harsha, Zayda 612-596-8269 zayda.harsha@hennepin.us Dispositional Advisor
Harun, Amiin amiin.harun@hennepin.us Attorney
Hasledalen, Kassie 612-348-5389 kassie.hasledalen@hennepin.us Information Technology
Hayes, Michelle 612-596-7136 michelle.hayes@hennepin.us Attorney
Herlofsky, Susan 612-348-9881 susan.herlofsky@hennepin.us Attorney
Hicks, Caroline 612-348-8395 caroline.hicks@hennepin.us Attorney
Hoffman, Gretchen 612-348-9156 gretchen.hoffman@hennepin.us Attorney-Supervisor
Hogan, Dan 612-348-8246 dan.hogan@hennepin.us Attorney
Hogan, Elizabeth 612-596-8510 elizabeth.hogan@hennepin.us Attorney-Supervisor
Holland, Michael 612-348-9946 mike.holland@hennepin.us Attorney
Hoppe, Mary 612-348-5265 mary.hoppe@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Hughes, Hannah 612-348-8255 hannah.hughes@hennepin.us Attorney
Inz, Julia 612-348-6810 julia.inz@hennepin.us Attorney
Isaacman, Geoffrey 612-348-7891 geoffrey.isaacman@hennepin.us Attorney-Supervisor
Jaimet, Matthew 612-596-1797 matthew.jaimet@hennepin.us Attorney
James, Beverly 612-348-2337 beverly.james@hennepin.us Admin Asst-Supervisor
Johnson, Kristin 612-596-7518 kristin.johnson@hennepin.us Investigator
Kamin, James 612-348-9676 james.kamin@hennepin.us Attorney
Karp, Elizabeth 612-543-2925 elizabeth.karp@hennepin.us Attorney
Kelly, Tom 612-339-5055 tom.kelly02@hennepin.us Attorney
Kennon, Shawn 612-348-8174 shawn.kennon@hennepin.us Attorney
Khan, Atif 612-348-2854 atif.khan@hennepin.us Attorney
Kieffer, Shauna 612-348-0382 shauna.kieffer@hennepin.us Attorney
King, Camille 612-596-9366 camille.king@hennepin.us Office Manager
Knott, Victoria 612-596-7883 victoria.knott@hennepin.us Attorney
Knutson, Chelsea 612-596-7889 chelsea.knutson@hennepin.us Attorney
Kolstad, Bob 612-543-3475 bob.kolstad@hennepin.us Attorney
Kowarski, Rachel 612-543-3071 rachel.kowarski@hennepin.us Attorney
Kraetzner, Krystal 612-596-1447 krystal.kraetzner@hennepin.us Paralegal
Ky, Diana 612-348-2148 diana.ky@hennepin.us Attorney
Kyle, Juanita 612-348-6680 juanita.kyle@hennepin.us Attorney
Landreau, Stefan 612-348-8393 stefan.landreau@hennepin.us Law Clerk
Leary, Bryan 612-348-6553 bryan.leary@hennepin.us Attorney
Leary, Charlotte 612-348-4960 Charlotte.Leary@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Lucas, John 612-348-8225 john.lucas@hennepin.us Attorney
Lund, Chris 612-543-0264 chris.lund@hennepin.us Law Clerk
Mahoney, John 612-348-8021 john.mahoney@hennepin.us Attorney
Maravigli, Paul 612-348-0186 paul.maravigli@hennepin.us Attorney
Marks, Krista 612-348-2414 krista.marks@hennepin.us Attorney
Marrero, Angela 612-348-4973 angela.marrero@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Martin, Ben 612-348-6618 benjamin.martin@hennepin.us Attorney
Martin, Matthew 612-309-1979 matthew.martin@hennepin.us Attorney
Martin, Peter 612-348-7113 peter.martin@hennepin.us Attorney
Martinez, Arthur 612-348-5413 arthur.martinez@hennepin.us Attorney
McGuire, Katherine 612-348-6658 kat.mcguire@hennepin.us Dispositional Advisor
McInnis, Joey 612-348-9804 joey.mcinnis@hennepin.us Attorney
McNaughton, Lisa 612-348-4375 lisa.mcnaughton@hennepin.us Attorney-Managing
McPherson, Patrick 612-348-4396 patrick.mcpherson@hennepin.us Investigator
Merchant, David 612-543-1646 david.merchant@hennepin.us Attorney
Mesa-White, Sebastian 612-596-1228 sebastian.mesa-white@hennepin.us Attorney
Michael, Brad 612-596-9409 brad.michael@hennepin.us Investigator
Millard, Christopher 612-596-1220 christopher.millard@hennepin.us Investigator
Miller, Mark 612-543-3074 mark.miller2@hennepin.us Attorney
Miller, Monica 612-348-2056 monica.miller@hennepin.us Attorney
Mills, Victor 612-348-0702 victor.mills@hennepin.us Investigator
Mitchell, LaToya 612-348-8654 latoya.mitchell@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Mollenkof, Jared 612-348-9198 jared.mollenkof@hennepin.us Attorney
Monroe, William 612-348-4846 william.monroe@hennepin.us Attorney
Morant, Andre 612-348-6756 andre.morant@hennepin.us Attorney-Supervisor
Moriarty, Christina 612-348-5061 christina.moriarty@hennepin.us Attorney
Moriarty, Mary 612-348-8349 mary.moriarty@hennepin.us Attorney
Morris, Jordan 612-596-9411 jordan.morris@hennepin.us Attorney
Morrison, Aaron 612-850-0145 aaron.morrison@hennepin.us Attorney
Moya, Jaqueline 612-596-8314 jaqueline.moya@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Muhammad, Kymphus 612-596-8362 kymphus.muhammad@hennepin.us Investigator
Myhran, Chase 612-348-5852 chase.myhran@hennepin.us Attorney
Myren, Doug 612-348-6373 doug.myren@hennepin.us Attorney
Nolen, Julius 612-348-8560 julius.nolen@hennepin.us Attorney
Nolen, Laura 612-543-0262 laura.nolen@hennepin.us Attorney
Novak, Anna 612-543-0265 anna.novak@hennepin.us Paralegal
Nybroten, Heidi 612-348-8264 heidi.nybroten@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
O'Connor, Leslie 612-596-3215 leslie.o'connor@hennepin.us Attorney
Oleisky, Jill 612-332-3100 jill.oleisky@hennepin.us Attorney-Contract
Olson, Aaron 612-348-6092 aaron.olson@hennepin.us Attorney
Overby, Michelle 612-596-1811 michelle.overby@hennepin.us Attorney
Parrott, Anwen 612-348-0384 anwen.parrott@hennepin.us Law Clerk
Patterson, Jerry 612-348-6019 jerry.patterson@hennepin.us Attorney
Paule, Robert 612-332-1733 robert.paule@hennepin.us Attorney
Pawlowicz, Jennifer 612-348-7198 Jennifer.Pawlowicz@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Perry, Briana 612-596-0790 briana.perry@hennepin.us Attorney
Petersen, Steve 612-596-1803 steve.petersen@hennepin.us Investigator
Port, Zach 612-348-4560 zach.port@hennepin.us Law Clerk
Prahl, Laura 612-543-1633 laura.prahl@hennepin.us Attorney
Prentice, Carrie 612-596-7782 carrie.prentice@hennepin.us Attorney
Probst, Ashley 612-348-7110 ashley.probst@hennepin.us Attorney
Quiggle, Brett 612-348-8557 brett.quiggle@hennepin.us Investigator
Rahmlow, Brenna 612-543-1311 brenna.rahmlow@hennepin.us Attorney
Reid, Tracy 612-543-3073 tracy.reid@hennepin.us Attorney
Reiland, Andrew 612-348-5838 andrew.reiland@hennepin.us Attorney
Renden, Greg 612-348-5952 gregory.renden@hennepin.us Attorney
Repp, Ashley 612-596-0784 ashley.repp@hennepin.us Attorney
Reynolds, Andrea 612-543-3007 andrea.reynolds@hennepin.us Attorney
Ryan, John 612-348-8271 john.ryan@hennepin.us Attorney
Sargent, Cathy 612-348-8933 cathy.sargent@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Sather, Joelle 612-543-0088 joelle.sather@hennepin.us Attorney
Scanlan, Greg 612-596-7779 greg.scanlan@hennepin.us Attorney
Schneck, Paul 612-596-7105 paul.schneck@hennepin.us Attorney
Scott, Elizabeth 612-348-4370 elizabeth.scott@hennepin.us Attorney
Sellers, Paul 612-348-2452 paul.sellers@hennepin.us Attorney
Selman, Butch 612-348-7856 butch.selman@hennepin.us Attorney
Sherman, Darcy 612-348-2429 darcy.sherman@hennepin.us Attorney
Siolka, Lindsay 612-348-2181 lindsay.siolka@hennepin.us Attorney-Supervisor
Skogstad, Kathleen 612-348-9856 kathleen.skogstad@hennepin.us Admin Asst-HR
Skrzeczkoski-Bzdusek, Lisa 612-596-1801 lisa.skrzeczkoski@hennepin.us Attorney
Small, Andrew 612-875-9919 andrew.small@hennepin.us Attorney
Smart, Jesse 612-348-9551 jesse.smart@hennepin.us Information Technology
Spoor, Tiffany 612-348-0253 tiffany.spoor@hennepin.us Attorney
Stoks, Amanda 612-348-8924 amanda.stoks@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Swiontek, Matthew 612-348-8053 matthew.swiontek@hennepin.us Attorney
Tierney, Collin 612-348-6343 collin.tierney@hennepin.us Attorney
Tillis, Benita 612-348-9887 benita.tillis@hennepin.us Legal Assistant
Todd, Ryan 612-348-6746 ryan.todd@hennepin.us Law Clerk
Tonkovitz, Natalie 612-348-4820 Natalie.Tonkovitz@hennepin.us Paralegal
Torrence, Michále 612-596-7247 michále.torrence@hennepin.us Paralegal
Trautman, Sarah 612-543-9849 sarah.trautman@hennepin.us Attorney
Van Beek, Lindsey 612-348-0378 lindsey.vanbeek@hennepin.us Attorney
Van Guilder, JoAnne 612-348-0703 joanne.vanguilder@hennepin.us Paralegal
Vang, Melody 612-348-6940 melody.vang@hennepin.us Dispositional Advisor
Verdoorn, Briana 612-348-2210 briana.verdoorn@hennepin.us Investigator
Vertin, Marecca 612-348-9947 marecca.vertin@hennepin.us Attorney
Watkins, Nicholl 612-596-9407 nicholl.watkins@hennepin.us Office Manager
Webb, Shawn 612-596-7884 shawn.webb@hennepin.us Attorney-Supervisor
Whaley, Jill 612-543-2120 jill.whaley@hennepin.us Investigator
Whiting, Freya 612-348-0111 freya.whiting@hennepin.us Law Clerk
Wilkie, Diana 612-348-8292 diana.wilkie@hennepin.us Disposition Adv-Sup
Wong, Jay 612-596-8316 jay.wong@hennepin.us Attorney

Contact us

612-348-7530

701 4th Ave. S.
Suite 1400
Minneapolis, MN 55415